Read any good books lately?

Last fall, I really got back into reading.  Don’t get me wrong – I have always been interested in books and reading… but I really got into it this time.  I was looking up any and all books that  might interest me and checked them out at our local library.  I even got a little frustrated with that, due to the amount of books I had to place on hold.  Now that I have started my new job and am getting into the work vibe and new schedule, I have returned to my reading.  I am almost done with Sophie Kinsella’s latest book, “Remember Me?”  It has been a pretty interesting read.  It is different than her other books, but can be a little frustrating because you want her to remember (Note: the woman in the story got in an accident, wakes up in the hospital, thinks its one year when it really is another.  Everything has changed and she doesn’t know how – and thus far in the book, has been trying to figure out who she is).

What type of books am I interested in?  Well, I am what many would call a “Chick Lit” reader.  Let me clarify, however.  I am not and will never be a fan of those novels with Fabio’s bare chest on the cover.  I like books that are themed around a young woman’s life… with a touch of romance involved.  Doesn’t have to be dripping with sex – in fact, I’d rather it not be.  I just want to have that awwww feeling.  I have also been known to enjoy a good mystery or suspensful novel… as long as it won’t give me nightmares. 

Anyway, I was just wondering if anyone had any tips or any good reads to recommend.  I’m trying to update my library list and want to know which good books I am missing out on.  Thanks!

3 thoughts on “Read any good books lately?

  1. books i’ve been reading lately that i’ve really enjoyed, but would probably not fall under the “chic lit” category are:

    -the time traveler’s wife
    -the last two harry potters (so good!)
    -life with marly (sounds cheesy, but it’s mostly about having babies and family dynamics, i enjoyed it)

  2. oooh, I have heard that the time traveler’s wife is a great book… and I have actually never read the harry potters! Kimmi has a few… maybe I should grab them? And, because Confessions of a Shopaholic is coming out to movies soon, I want to re-read those… but my mom has them at the moment. what is life with marly about? For some reason I thought of that new puppy movie – marly and me. 🙂

Wanna say something?

