If it’s not the snow, it’s the RAIN!

I am so mad right now I could spit.  For those of you who don’t know, my grandmother passed away right before Christmas.  This was pretty sad for me, because it was semi-unexpected.  The funeral ended up being planned for today, January 9th, because some of her siblings wanted to come and they live in other states.  However – the tricky part is that it was planned in the town that she lived in (and where I am from) – Bend, Oregon.  Well, because Western Washington is having the best winter ever…we had some heavy rain earlier this week, which has led to flooding.  MASSIVE flooding.  For the past two days, if you look at the DOT map, it looks like we have entered into a war zone.  It seems that every possible way to drive anywhere is closed.  Which sucks, because now I cannot get to the funeral & memorial reception.  I don’t even know how my family is going to get home, since most of the usual routes are either covered by mudslides or closed for (at the minimum) 4 days.  This just really really sucks.  I am not the happiest person today, so don’t expect me to be.  I am really bummed out and sincerely hope that ALL of those siblings show up. 

I don’t really know what else to say.  Lame.  Here is the DOT website, for those of you who are curious:
http://www.wsdot.wa.gov/traffic/trafficalerts/    — if you can find a way, let me know.  The funeral is at 2pm.  It typically takes 5 hours to get down there. 

(Disclaimer: And for those of you who will suggest flying – I checked.  The only option is to fly directly into Bend, and unfortunately there aren’t any flights until later in the day – arriving at 7pm.)

Wanna say something?

