Say it ain’t SEW!

We bought a king sized bed and captain’s bed frame a few months ago… but it came with a headboard that just was not for us.  I often watch HGTV and have seen it done first hand – so I decided that I too wanted to make a DIY headboard.  For those of you who are unsure as to what this is exactly, it is a headboard made of various wood materials as the base and covered with foam and/or batting, and the fabric of your choice.  We have wanted to complete this project for awhile, but have been putting it off.  We finally decided that this weekend was the weekend to custom make our headboard.  I found a great fabric, we decided on batting only, picked up our required wood pieces, and began our work. 

When we cut the fabric to size, we noticed that we would need two pieces of fabric in order to cover our large headboard.  We originally thought of just getting some fabric glue and another piece of fabric with a different pattern to secure the two larger pieces together (i.e. our belt – like concept).  We thought this was the easy fix, but wasn’t sure how it would hold up or if it would look right.  After visiting my in-laws this morning, my mother-in-law offered me the chance to borrow her antique sewing machine to simply sew the two big pieces of fabric together.  HECK YEAH!  I have wanted to pick up sewing again for sometime.  When I say sewing again, I mean basically re-learn from scratch (disclaimer: I have helped my mom with several sewing projects when I was little, but never actually learned how to sew on my own).  It was so fun and I can’t wait to complete more projects through sewing! 

 img_27091

BTW – I mentioned a few other projects that I have mentioned before in previous blogs that I have never posted pictures of.  I will try to get those up tomorrow so you can see my window seat, master bath, and newly decorated family room.  Yay!

3 thoughts on “Say it ain’t SEW!

  1. Lol, I am going to try to create a third page on this blog that will have all of my DIY projects. yay! and yes kimmi, you should be jealous! it’s pretty darn awesome!

Wanna say something?

