“Does it take a village to build a window seat?”

Yesterday was a FULL day!  We spent 6 hours working on what has to be the world’s largest window seat.  See, our window seat is 8 feet long… so building one solid cushion takes some patience.  Luckily, my mom and I made it through without having any creative differences.  Hurray!

img_2731

By the way, I think the most unbelievable find when gathering materials for this project was the fabric.  It is perfect!  I love the texture and the coloring –  it is exactly what I was hoping to find… at Walmart.  Yes!  Can you believe it?  We went to Jo-Anns a couple weekends ago, and I just couldn’t find what I was hoping for – in a reasonable price range.  I wasn’t quite sure on patterns, because I wanted something that would last… something I wouldn’t want to re-do or change in a couple of months.  I did buy fabric, but wasn’t completely sold on it.  Well, yesterday my mom and I went to Walmart to go pick up some batting, and made a quick walk through their fabric section… and I was amazed!  Not only did they have unbeatable prices (come on, its walmart)… but they actually had some great fabrics.  There were a few I was debating between… nice, sturdy, heavy-duty upholstery fabric.  I ended up choosing a green/brown-ish fabric which goes wonderfully with our home (the colors tend to be more natural). 

img_2734

Now, this window seat has been quite the process… so it’s hard to believe that it is actually finished.  Creating this lovely addition to our home involved many people… 7 to be exact!  My husband and I started with the idea, his mom and dad helped with the design, my husband and I built the window seat, my sister and mom helped with fabric selection, my mom and I made the cushion, and my dad helped me stuff the hand-made pillows that we made with the left-over fabric.  So yes, it really does take a village to  build a window seat!

4 thoughts on ““Does it take a village to build a window seat?”

Wanna say something?

