My first antique find.

My mother-in-law and I have a lot in common… so I knew when she told us that we had to check out the Habitat for Humanity shop here in town, it was nothing to cough at.  Our weekends fill up fast, and when we went downtown to visit with the hub’s grandma this morning – I thought that afterward would be the most perfect time to stop by and check it out.  It took some convincing of the hubs that we should stop by (i.e. “no, we won’t buy anything.” “yes, we’ll just QUICKLY browse.”) – you see, the hubs isn’t much of a shopper.  So when he finally agreed to taking a quick peek in the store, I was happy has a clam. 

I really wasn’t quite sure what to expect.  Holly (m-i-l) had explained to us that it had a little bit of everything… cabinets and doors from renovating, donated furniture, tools, appliances, etc.  When we drove by the shop, the window display had me at first glance at the sweet chair and dresser it had front and center… I just knew this place would be great!  We walked in and there was so much to look at!  We found several things that interested us… solid wood cabinets, interior doors, french doors, dressers, chairs… and an antique sewing machine with attached sewing table!  I was in love!  And – surprise, surprise… the hubs actually liked the looks of it too!  The sewing machine looks a lot like Holly’s, which is the picture on the header of my blog.  Unfortunately, this antique sewing machine was not taken care of… so we have a lot of renovating to do to get it up to speed.  The table itself needs to be sanded and re-stained, and the sewing machine needs some TLC.  We need to fix the electrical and use some good ol’ fashioned elbow grease to get it looking great!  I just couldn’t resist… it was under $20 and a donation to Habitat for Humanity!  Perfection!  I did take a few pictures of it the way it looks now… so I’ll have to post a few when we have it in better condition.

Hurray!!

img_2929

img_29321

4 thoughts on “My first antique find.

  1. I’m a guy, but I still enjoy antiques. That sewing machine looks great. It really does.

    Great addition.

    Cheers to both you and your mother in law! 🙂

  2. Hey thanks! I am so excited to get it in working condition again – and once the table is re-stained, it will be great.

    Antiques can be fun – this place also had some great antique chairs that I would love to have… maybe next weekend! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Kingston’s nursery, revisited. «

Wanna say something?

