Mmmmm, shepherd’s pie!

…or poor man’s casserole, or whatever you may call it.  I made it last night for dinner – and it turned out uber delish!  
[Yes, sister, I did make your favorite meal! ]
Anyway, I thought I would go ahead and share with you all how I make this wonderfully easy meal.  It has every man’s dream in it – meat and potatoes – so the hubs is happy whenever we put it on our weekly menu.  

Here’s what you need:
1 lb. of ground beef (I use ground turkey)
1 can tomato soup
1 can green beans
3 large potatoes
shredded cheese (your choice of flavor, as much as you like)
1/2 sweet yellow onion, chopped (optional) 

These are the typical ingredients for our version of shepherd’s pie.  However, you can choose to add peas or carrots or corn, etc.  Be sure to pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees.  I first skin the potatoes cut them into cubes for boiling.  Meanwhile, I brown the ground turkey meat in a skillet and add the chopped onion.  Once the ground turkey meat and onions are cooked thoroughly, I add the green beans and the can of tomato soup.  At this point, I turn the heat down to low as this usually cooks faster than the potatoes.  After the potatoes are soft and crumble to the touch, I drain the water and prepare the mashed potato topping for the pie.  I have been known to add a little butter, garlic, cream cheese, or sour cream to taste (depending on what I have available at the time).  I then grab my 9×13″ glass bakeware and pour in the ground turkey meat combination.  Be sure to spread it evenly across the bottom of the glass bakeware.  The mashed potatoes go on top, spread evenly across the ground turkey meat mixture.  At this point, I salt and pepper the top of the casserole, and sprinkle the shredded cheese.  Place the casserole in the oven, but only for approximately 10-15 minutes, as everything is already cooked.  And there you have it!  I am not sure how many servings it makes, but trust me – it is quite a bit… and for someone who does NOT like leftovers, I love this dish even one day later.  This is def. one of our favorite meals.  Try it – and let me know what you think!

Wanna say something?

