Day 1: Bed Rest

Bedrest: confinement to bed continuously (as in the case of some sick or injured persons)

As a result of my OB appointment yesterday, I have been put on bed rest until further notice.  I was very upset when I first found out, considering that I feel absolutely fine.  With such a wonderful pregnancy, these past few weeks have been interesting.  First a kidney stone, now extremely high blood pressure.  Fortunately, after many many tests, it has been determined that my high blood pressure is due to the stress the pregnancy is putting on my body while I try to go about my daily life – nothing unhealthy to report.  Baby is doing well – head down, kicking and punching like a champ.  Just not used to hauling around a baby I suppose.  I’ve heard this happens to a lot of first time moms and that sometimes during second pregnancies there are no blood pressure issues what so ever.  So we will see.  My doctor has allowed me to take a shower, get something to drink, go to the bathroom, etc. – but just keep off my feet for the majority of the day.

Today marked Day 1.  Didn’t feel any different from just taking a sick day from work… but I didn’t really expect it to.  However, come days 5+ I might be whistling a different tune.  I found some pretty good websites online today with some options to keep myself pre-occupied during this time.  If you have any suggestions, let me know.

Oh… and at least I’ll most likely meet my goal of blogging about something every day in November now.

2 thoughts on “Day 1: Bed Rest

Wanna say something?

