You will think you have died and gone to Heaven.

Today the hubs and I are going over to our friends’ home for dinner and we offered to bring something for dessert.  When I asked the hubs what I should make, he quickly answered: “Jen’s sweet spot, please.”  By “Jen’s sweet spot,” the hubs is combining baseball terminology and baking together… meaning that it is a can’t miss recipe.  I picked up this recipe from a co-worker and modified it a bit to our taste.

Oh, and after thinking about it, the hubs just informed me that he would prefer to call the recipe “Scale Busting Brownies,” because you won’t be able to keep your new years resolution after eating them (i.e. you can’t just eat one and you’ll want to avoid your scale after eating them, period).

If you are interested in trying these babies out for yourself, here’s what you need to get started:

1 cup butter, melted
3 cups white sugar
1 tbsp. vanilla extract
4 eggs
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 bag of milk chocolate chips

Kitchen necessities:
*Mixer
*Spatula
*9×13 baking dish
*Measuring cups
*Measuring spoons

You will need to pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees F and lightly grease your baking dish.  I chose to use my Pyrex 9×13 glass baking dish, which I lightly sprayed with organic olive oil non-stick cooking spray.  I then took the sugar, vanilla, eggs, and melted butter and mixed them together with my KitchenAid stand mixer.

Once those ingredients were thoroughly blended, I added the flour, cocoa powder, and salt.  Again, make sure all ingredients are thoroughly blended.

The last step, and my most favorite, is to add the chocolate chips of your liking.  I prefer to add one bag of Ghirardelli Milk Chocolate Premium Baking Chips.  Be sure to mix the chocolate chips evenly throughout your mixture.

Finally, spread the batter into your selected pre-greased baking dish.  Place the baking dish in your oven, baking the brownies at 350 degrees F for 35 minutes.

Once they are finished, when an inserted toothpick or utensil comes out clean, remove the brownies from the oven – and here’s the hard part: ALLOW THEM TO COOL – then enjoy!

I think the hubs and I are going to go for a walk.  That way we won’t feel too guilty when we have a few of these lovelies tonight after dinner.

5 thoughts on “You will think you have died and gone to Heaven.

  1. Mmmm… These look so good! I only have semi-sweet chips on hand, but I think I’ll be giving them a try tonight with those. Thanks for the great recipe (and calories). : )

  2. Pingback: Brownie-cakes? «

Wanna say something?

