Happy Birthday to ME?

My birthday is in October… October 25th, to be exact.

So needless to say I was more than  a little surprised when my mother-in-law called the hubs on Saturday, September 25th,  to inform him of my birthday dinner that night.

Did the hubs correct her?  No.  He just thought she was well-prepared, planning in advance.

Did the hubs inform her it was only September 25th when she proceeded to tell him of the wonderful birthday gift that she got for me?  No.  He just thought she was going to keep a hold of it until October.

Did the hubs question why she was making a birthday cake to go with dinner at her house last Saturday?  No.  He thought she was a little crazy, but was excited for the cake (a specialty cake that she has mastered).

So, when 3:00pm rolled around on Saturday and the hubs was continually chuckling to himself, he pointed the following things out to me:

  • My mother-in-law may or may not think that my birthday is September 25th.
  • My mother-in-law may or may not be planning a birthday dinner for me, which includes invites to my parents (and potential invites to some of the hubs’s extended family as well).
  • My mother-in-law may or may not be giving me a gift on September 25th, for my birthday on October 25th.
  • My mother-in-law may or may not be baking me a delicious cake.

Luckily, the hubs made a few calls, got things squared away, and we all had a pretty good laugh over it.  I did end up getting my birthday gift early – which I LOVE!  My mother-in-law got me a Trek mountain bike!  She knew that I have been wanting a bike (I have not owned one since middle school days)… especially since we got Kingston a baby seat to go riding with us.  I am so very excited!  I only wish my birthday was in a better time of the year, weather-wise.  The only things I need to pick up now are helmets for Mr. Kingston and me.

Pictures to come!!

5 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to ME?

  1. Pingback: Bike Crazy… «

  2. i know! i thought it was super sweet too. if it would have been a little closer to my birthday, i would have probably gone with it. but since it was a month early, i didn’t want her to be embarrassed when my husband announced that it wasn’t quite my birthday yet! 🙂

  3. he he, this is something that would happen to us also! It’s like you are going to have TWO birthdays this year. yay!

Wanna say something?

