Potty Training 101

Oh Kingston, I know you will be furious with me when you are older for posting this photo… but please note that I tried my hardest to blur the edges for you (thank you, iphone + instagram).

Okay mommas… here’s the gist with the Kingston-ater and potty training.  While I don’t think he is 100% ready to commit to the idea, he is definitely getting ready to test the waters, so to speak.  Kingston will say “poo poo” or “pee pee” and run into the bathroom to sit on his little toilet.  We encourage this and cheer him on (which he loves), but he’s not quite sure what to do once we remove his diaper.  Furthermore, he doesn’t seem like he wants to have anything to do with the potty when he is diaper-less.  We have tried to have Kingston run to the bathroom when the hubs does – and will continue to do this.

However… do you have any potty training tips or suggestions?

(Our plan is to casually show him his potty these next few weeks… then when I take my vacation in late December, seriously work on it.)

7 thoughts on “Potty Training 101

  1. go you for doing it early! it’s totally doable! i have lots of advice, but i’ll just tell you in person soon. 🙂 we potty trained sam in a weekend and never looked back. it’s perfect that you’ll have some vacation time to commit to it!!

  2. My only advice is coming to late…..start really early 🙂 I started at 10 weeks and little Milan (who is 9 months now) goes pee pee on the potty happily. He still goes in his diaper, but he does know what his potty is for. I hope this will help when it comes time to get serious about potty training. Only time will tell…Your little Kingston is adorable!!

  3. Yeah – he is definitely intrigued by the potty… so we are definitely getting him used to the idea of using it!

    Cindy – We will talk more soon! 🙂

  4. We went cold turkey and Bresho was potty trained in three days. The first day was a DISASTER and that is a complete understatement. It was BAD, HORRIBLE, TERRIBLE…. you get the point. The second day was better. Some accidents here and there, but not as bad. The third day: no accidents. After that, he had a few accidents (two in public and a few at home), but he got it.. he understood an accident had happened and that is when he started “holding it in” until he got to the potty.
    I know the same “method” doesn’t work with every child, but we skipped all the “getting used to the potty” stage (he rarely sat on the potty before the three day madness), did not give him m&ms or stickers or rewards (other than clapping and cheering) and did not use pull-ups (is it a diaper? undies? both? so confusing!) and just went for it. Needless to say, we stayed home for a week, bought A LOT of undies and took him to the playground two blocks away on our first outing…. he peed on the slide. After that, we carried a potty with us whenever we went out and since he was potty trained in the summer, we would just take him to a corner so he could pee. I know, we are the parents who let his kid pee in front of everyone (fully potty train my kid vs. what people think… a no brainer).
    I think the key is being consistent. If you go cold turkey and he has accidents all day the first day and you decide he is not ready and go back to diapers, he will be really confused. So, even though I doubted myself the first day, I didn’t go back to diapers because I knew it would make it worse. So the best bet is to take a few days off, just go for it, and be really really really patient. By the end of the first day, I was ready to bang my head against the wall (so I called my husband at work and took it out on him) (that always works better than the walls!!). Good luck!!!

  5. Oh, I forgot to mention that bresho was 29 months when we potty trained him. Also, sorry for the essay-comment I just left. Pee is an exciting topic of discussion when you have kids and I got carried away! I know. I know. 😉

  6. NO – thank YOU for the information! My husband and I loved your input and will definitely take into consideration what you shared!! We think the cold turkey treatment will work best for him too – he’s pretty stubborn, so maybe if he sees that he will no longer get diapers, he will learn that he has to go potty actually IN the potty. I will definitely be sharing our adventure through the bloggy. lol

Wanna say something?

