First Attempt: Homemade Pumpkin Pie

For Thanksgiving this year, I offered to bring the desserts… pumpkin pie and apple pie.  However, if you took the little sickness our family has been sharing this past week, our busy work/home schedule, and my apprehension to bake homemade pies for the first time – you might say I was getting a wee bit nervous about baking and may have even thought about skipping the baking altogether (hello, store-bought pie!).

But, then I thought about things… and decided that I should definitely give one pie a whirl; a homemade whirl, that is.  I mean, if the homemade one was absolutely awful, we could always enjoy the store-bought one instead, right?  Right.  Now, don’t get me wrong… I LOVE to bake.  It is just that these two pies would be my first homemade pies and I wanted them to be great (not to spoil Thanksgiving dessert).

So I pondered this idea a bit more… talked to my mom about things… even had a small Facebook poll… and decided to bake a homemade pumpkin pie and bake a store-bought apple pie (dutch apple, to be exact).

The last two photos are of the pie cooling, but I think it is shaping up to look like a pretty good first attempt, don’t you think?  Only time will tell… but if it turns out alright, maybe I’ll be baking both pies next year.  Maybe.

Wanna say something?

